:: WP Weekly Photo Challenge: The Hue of Me

MagnoliaHypoleuca

Yesterday, when I passed by this magnolia, I noticed that there was a lonely flower in a lower branch. I turned back to photograph it.
When I was a kid, all the streets in my neighborhood had these trees planted on the sidewalks. People used to say they had a strong scent at night what gave a characteristic smell to the neighborhood, but I never perceived it. After the blooming, seeds would fall from a kind of nut bunch and we loved to step on them and hear the sharp sound of crushing them under our shoes on our way to school. I loved the coincidence of this week theme because green is my favorite color since ever.
See more interpretations of the challenge here.

Ontem, quando eu passei por esta magnólia, notei que havia uma flor sozinha em um galho mais baixo. Voltei-me para fotografá-la.
Quando eu era criança, todas as ruas do meu bairro tinham essas árvores plantadas nas calçadas. As pessoas costumavam dizer que elas tinham um perfume forte à noite o que dava um cheiro característico à vizinhança, mas eu nunca senti. Após a floração, as sementes caíam de uma espécie de cacho de nozes e nós adorávamos pisar nelas e ouvir o ruído seco de esmagá-las sob nossos sapatos a caminho da escola. Adorei a coincidência do tema desta semana porque o verde é minha cor favorita desde sempre.
Veja mais interpretações desse desafio aqui.

7 thoughts on “:: WP Weekly Photo Challenge: The Hue of Me

Leave a comment