:: WP Weekly Photo Challenge: Letters

Letters

When the postman arrived
And my name called
With a letter in hand
Faced with so rude surprise
I do not know how I could get to the gate
Reading the pretty envelope
I recognized in its superscription
The same handwriting that told me one day
“I’m sick of you”
But I dared not open the message
Because in uncertainty, I meditated
And said, “will be joy, sadness will be?”
What a sad truth
Or laughing lie brings us a letter
And so thinking, I ripped and burnt your letter
To suffer no more
Message – Aldo Cabral and Cícero Nunes.

All love letters are ridiculous
They would not be love letters if they were not ridiculous
I also wrote in my time, love letters like the others, ridiculous
Love letters, if there is love, must be ridiculous
I wish the time I was writing, without realizing it, love letters ridiculous
After all, the only creatures who never wrote love letters are they ridiculous.
Álvaro de Campos
See more interpretations of the challenge here.

Quando o carteiro chegou
E o meu nome gritou
Com uma carta na mão
Ante surpresa tão rude
Nem sei como pude chegar ao portão
Lendo o envelope bonito
No seu sobrescrito eu reconheci
A mesma caligrafia que me disse um dia
“Estou farto de ti”
Porém não tive coragem de abrir a mensagem
Porque, na incerteza, eu meditava
Dizia: “será de alegria, será de tristeza?”
Quanta verdade tristonha
Ou mentira risonha uma carta nos traz
E assim pensando, rasguei sua carta e queimei
Para não sofrer mais
Mensagem – Aldo Cabral e Cícero Nunes.

Todas as cartas de amor são ridículas
Não seriam cartas de amor, se não fossem ridículas
Também escrevi, no meu tempo, cartas de amor como as outras, ridículas
As cartas de amor, se há amor, têm de ser ridículas
Quem me dera o tempo em que eu escrevia, sem dar por isso, cartas de amor ridículas
Afinal, só as criaturas que nunca escreveram cartas de amor é que são ridículas.
Álvaro de Campos
Veja mais interpretações desse desafio aqui.

Leave a Reply

